The Connecticut Eastern Railroad Museum is located off Bridge Street in downtown Willimantic, Connecticut, on the original site of the Columbia Junction Freight Yard. Our collection includes locomotives and rolling stock, as well as vintage railroad buildings and a six-stall roundhouse reconstructed on the original foundation.
Visitors can receive a guided tour of the museum and kids of all ages can operate a replica 1850's-style pump car aThe Museum is operated by the Connecticut Eastern Chapter of the National Railroad Historical Society.
The Connecticut Eastern Chapter of The National Railway Historical Society is a 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization for historical and educational purposes. Donations are both welcomed and tax deductiblelong a section of rail that once was part of the New Haven Railroad's "Air Line".
Future plans include extending track from the museum site to the Bridge Street entrance, reconstructing structures such as water towers on their original foundations, and erecting a Railroad Station/Visitor Center.