The Connecticut Electric Railway Association, Inc. is the owner and operator of The Connecticut Trolley Museum. Founded in October 1940, it is the nation's oldest incorporated organization dedicated to the preservation of the trolley era.
As a non-profit institution, its educational and historical aim is the establishment of a full scale operating street and interurban railroad system with the appropriate accessory equipment and buildings, to recreate an important phase of
A three mile round trip streetcar ride with an educational narrative is provided to the museum's visitors during their visit. Dedicated volunteers provide labor for operations, maintenance, and management. The Association owns over 70 pieces of rolling stock dating back to 1869, of which approximately half are housed within five storage barns. The collection consists of passenger and freight street cars, interurban cars, elevated railway cars, service cars, locomotives, passenger and freight railroad cars, and a variety of other rail equipment.
All major buildings and the Museum's center of operations are located on a 17-acre facility adjacent to State Route 140 in
Our mission is to provide a historically accurate educational experience of the trolley era, through the interpretation, preservation, restoration and operation of an electric railway.