Information on:

New York Transit Museum

New York Transit Museum
Boerum Place and Schermerhorn Street
718-694-1600

The New York Transit Museum, one of the city's leading cultural institutions is the largest museum in the United States devoted to urban public transportation history, and one of the premier institutions of its kind in the world. The Museum explores the development of the greater New York Metropolitan region through the presentations of exhibitions, tours, educational programs, and workshops dealing with the cultural, social, and technological history of public transportation. Since it's inception over a quarter century ago, the Museum, housed in a historic 1936 IND subway station in Brooklyn Heights, has grown in scope and popularity. As custodian and interpreter of the region's extensive public transportation networks, the Museum strives to share, through its public programs, this rich and vibrant history with local, regional, and international audiences.

The New York Transit Museum's galleries feature popular exhibits such as Steel, Stone, and Backbone, which recounts the tale of building New York City's 100 year-old subway system, and many highly interactive exhibitions such as On The Streets, an in-depth look at New York City's trolleys and buses. Also of interest are the museum's age-appropriate education workshops and computer resource center.

The New York Transit Museum operates a gallery annex in Grand Central Terminal that presents changing exhibitions. The gallery annex is located just off the Main Concourse in the Shuttle Passage, next to the Station Master's office. Please go to What's New on this web site for information on the gallery annex's current exhibition.



New York Transit Museum is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media

Upcoming Events at New York Transit Museum

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Oct 17, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition - What’s Old Is New Again: Recent Acquisitions

Thursday, Oct 17, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition - What’s Old Is New Again: Recent Acquisitions

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Oct 18, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition - What’s Old Is New Again: Recent Acquisitions

Friday, Oct 18, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition - What’s Old Is New Again: Recent Acquisitions

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Oct 19, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition - What’s Old Is New Again: Recent Acquisitions

Saturday, Oct 19, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition - What’s Old Is New Again: Recent Acquisitions

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Oct 20, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition - What’s Old Is New Again: Recent Acquisitions

Sunday, Oct 20, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition - What’s Old Is New Again: Recent Acquisitions

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Oct 22, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Oct 23, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Oct 24, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Oct 25, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Oct 26, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Oct 27, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Oct 29, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Oct 30, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Oct 31, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Nov 1, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Nov 2, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Nov 3, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Nov 5, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Nov 6, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Nov 7, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Nov 8, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Nov 9, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Nov 10, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Nov 12, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Nov 13, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Nov 15, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Nov 16, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Nov 17, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Nov 19, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Nov 20, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Nov 21, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Nov 22, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Nov 23, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Nov 24, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Nov 26, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Nov 28, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Nov 29, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Nov 30, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Dec 1, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Dec 3, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Dec 4, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Dec 5, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Dec 6, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Dec 7, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Dec 8, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Dec 10, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Dec 11, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Dec 12, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Dec 13, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Dec 14, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Dec 15, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Dec 19, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Dec 20, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Dec 21, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Dec 22, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Dec 24, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Dec 27, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Dec 28, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Dec 29, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Dec 31, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Jan 2, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Jan 3, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Jan 4, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Jan 5, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Jan 7, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Jan 8, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Jan 9, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Jan 10, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Jan 11, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Jan 12, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Jan 14, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Jan 15, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Jan 16, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Jan 17, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Jan 18, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Jan 19, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Jan 21, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Jan 22, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Jan 23, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Jan 24, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Jan 25, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Jan 26, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Jan 30, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Jan 31, 2020 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Photos