Information on:

New York Transit Museum

New York Transit Museum
Boerum Place and Schermerhorn Street
718-694-1600

The New York Transit Museum, one of the city's leading cultural institutions is the largest museum in the United States devoted to urban public transportation history, and one of the premier institutions of its kind in the world. The Museum explores the development of the greater New York Metropolitan region through the presentations of exhibitions, tours, educational programs, and workshops dealing with the cultural, social, and technological history of public transportation. Since it's inception over a quarter century ago, the Museum, housed in a historic 1936 IND subway station in Brooklyn Heights, has grown in scope and popularity. As custodian and interpreter of the region's extensive public transportation networks, the Museum strives to share, through its public programs, this rich and vibrant history with local, regional, and international audiences.

The New York Transit Museum's galleries feature popular exhibits such as Steel, Stone, and Backbone, which recounts the tale of building New York City's 100 year-old subway system, and many highly interactive exhibitions such as On The Streets, an in-depth look at New York City's trolleys and buses. Also of interest are the museum's age-appropriate education workshops and computer resource center.

The New York Transit Museum operates a gallery annex in Grand Central Terminal that presents changing exhibitions. The gallery annex is located just off the Main Concourse in the Shuttle Passage, next to the Station Master's office. Please go to What's New on this web site for information on the gallery annex's current exhibition.



New York Transit Museum is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media

Upcoming Events at New York Transit Museum

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, May 23, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, May 24, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, May 25, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, May 26, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, May 28, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, May 30, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, May 31, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Jun 1, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Jun 2, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Jun 4, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Jun 5, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Jun 6, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Jun 7, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Jun 8, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Jun 9, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Jun 11, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Jun 12, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Jun 13, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Jun 14, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Jun 15, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Jun 16, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Jun 18, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Jun 19, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Jun 20, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Jun 21, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Jun 22, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Jun 23, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Jun 25, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Jun 26, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Jun 27, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Jun 28, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Jun 29, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Jun 30, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Jul 2, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Jul 3, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Jul 5, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Jul 6, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Jul 7, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Jul 9, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Jul 10, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Jul 11, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Jul 12, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Jul 13, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Jul 14, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Jul 16, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Jul 17, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Jul 18, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Jul 19, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Jul 20, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Jul 21, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Jul 25, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Jul 26, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Jul 27, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Jul 28, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Jul 30, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Jul 31, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Aug 1, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Aug 2, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Aug 3, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Aug 4, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Aug 6, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Aug 7, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Aug 8, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Aug 9, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Aug 10, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Aug 11, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Aug 13, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Aug 14, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Aug 15, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Aug 16, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Aug 17, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Aug 18, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Aug 21, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Aug 22, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Aug 23, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Aug 24, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Aug 25, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Aug 27, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Aug 28, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Aug 29, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Aug 30, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Aug 31, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Sep 1, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Tuesday, Sep 3, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Wednesday, Sep 4, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Thursday, Sep 5, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Friday, Sep 6, 2019 from 10:00am to 4:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Saturday, Sep 7, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Exhibition: Navigating New York

Sunday, Sep 8, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
NYC Transit Museum
Brooklyn, NY
Read More »
Exhibition: Navigating New York

Photos